Yes. Painters in Florida must have a license to take on painting jobs.
At the state level, Florida does not offer a painting license. However, painters must have a general contractor license to work.
A painter working in Florida needs to apply for a general contractor license. It allows the painter to handle any size project within the state.
There are two types of general contractor licenses a painter can apply for:
- Certified contractor license allows the contractor to work in the whole state of Florida.
- Registered contractor license is a localized license for contractors. Painters cannot work outside of the county or region they are signed up in.
Where to get a painting license in Florida
The Construction Industry Licensing Board issues licenses to contractors in Florida.
Here is what you need to do to qualify for a license:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Sit and pass your exam. Book and sit your exam when you are ready at the Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation.
- Proof of four years of experience in your trade.
- Submit a credit report.
- Register your business.
- Get an Employer Identification Number if your business has employees.
- Proof of worker’s compensation.
- Consider the local business guidelines depending on the county you live or work.
- Get general business liability insurance.
- Pay the requisite license fee.
- Renew your license every two years.
What can happen if you hire an unlicensed painter in Florida
In Florida, it is illegal to hire an unlicensed painter. Working as an unlicensed contractor can either be a felony or misdemeanor based on the prevailing circumstances.
You may hire an unlicensed painter as they offer lower prices than licensed painters.
However, there are negative consequences to hiring an unlicensed painter.
- It is illegal to hire an unlicensed contractor. You will get cease and desist orders which will delay the project timeline.
- An unlicensed contractor pays a $5,000 fine or is imprisoned for five years if charged in court.
- They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported to the Registrar of Contractors for wrongdoing. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
- Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
- You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
- If you have a dispute with an unlicensed contractor, you cannot report them.
- It will affect the value of your property and may void your home insurance if your insurer finds out you hired an unlicensed contractor.
- A contractor who hires an unlicensed subcontractor may lose their license.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
In many states, Florida included, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.
However, if you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.
Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.
If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a licensed contractor.
When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is likely to exceed $1,000.
When you hire a licensed contractor, you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home.
Lead paint disclosure Florida
A lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and state of Florida legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.
Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients’ presence of lead-based paint in the. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.
Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.
Pregnant women and unborn children are at high risk of infections caused by exposure to lead.