Painters in Louisiana need a state license and local registration to work on any residential job over $7,500.
A license is necessary for every contractor working in Louisiana, whether they are a resident or not. The type of license you need will depend on the size and scope of the job. Commercial and residential licenses differ from Home Improvement Contractor licenses based on size and location of jobs.
Below is a list of license types and a link to their application forms.
A painter can choose from four types of licenses depending on the contracts they want to take.
Commercial Contractor License
It allows a contractor to undertake commercial contracts worth $50,000 and more. Sub-contractors and specialty contractors in the project should also have the same license.
Residential Contractor License
It allows contractors to work on residential projects worth $75,000 and above. Residential projects include home improvement or building new four-unit family dwellings.
Home Improvement Contractor Registration
It allows contractors to work on all home improvement projects worth over $7,500 but less than $75,000.
An exception for this license is work on swimming pools. Swimming pool contractors require a specialty license.
Mold Remediation License
If you work with hazardous materials such as lead paint, you will apply for this license.
Where to get a painting license in Louisiana
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors issues licenses to painters and all other contractors.
Here are the requirements to qualify for a contractor license.
- Fill out and submit the application form.
- Provide business registration information.
- Pass all relevant exams. Painters only have to sit the Business Law exam. Other contractors may need to sit and pass a trade exam.
- Proof of other relevant education.
- Provide a financial statement prepared by a CPA to show you have a net worth of at least $10,000. You can also provide a letter of credit from a bank or bond letter.
- Proof of general liability business insurance and worker’s compensation insurance if you have employees.
- Proof of payment for your license application and exam fees.
What can happen if you hire an unlicensed painter
An unlicensed painter working in Louisiana will pay fines worth 10% of the contract value.
Additionally, the painter is likely to be taken to court to face more fines and charges.
Here are some negative consequences of hiring an unlicensed contractor.
- They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported to the Registrar of Contractors for wrongdoing. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
- Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
- You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
- If you have a dispute with an unlicensed contractor, you cannot report them to the Registrar of Contractors.
- It will affect the value of your property. When selling your home, you must declare any renovations or repairs in a house on sale. You must also reveal the contractor to recover their repair costs during the sale. If the contractor is unlicensed, the homeowner may not recover the cost of repairs and will have to lower the asking price.
- It may void your home insurance. Your home insurance provider can refuse to pay for any damages caused by an unlicensed painter.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
In Louisiana, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.
Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.
However, if you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.
If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a licensed contractor.
When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is likely to exceed $1,000.
When you hire a licensed contractor, you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home.
Lead paint disclosure Louisiana
A lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and Arizona legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.
Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients’ presence of lead-based paint in the. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.
Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.
Pregnant women and unborn children are at high risk of infections caused by exposure to lead.