Contractors working on projects worth more than $4,000 must get a license. Contractors working on lower value projects do not need a license.
All people working on construction projects are considered contractors. All contractors must carry a state license.
There are four categories of licenses that a painter can apply. The licenses are separated by the value of projects a painter or contractor can work on.
- Class A and B: Holder of the license can work on projects worth over $500,000.
- Class C: Holder of the license can work on projects worth over $300,000.
- Class D: Holder of the license can work on projects worth over $100,000.
Where to get a painting license
Contractors should apply for their license from the North Dakota Secretary of State.
To apply for a painting license you must meet the following requirements:
- Register your business name with the Secretary of State.
- Certificate of insurance in the exact name of your business.
- A statement to prove good standing with the Workforce Safety And Insurance.
- Pay license fee. Each class of license has its own fee.
Once your application is approved, you will be contacted and you can start your contracting business.
What can happen if you hire an unlicensed painter
Contracting without a license is a Class A misdemeanor. You will pay high fines and face stipulated jail time.
Here are some negative consequences of hiring an unlicensed contractor.
- They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported for unfinished jobs or overcharging. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
- Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
- You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
- It may be hard to get your money back from an unlicensed out-of-state painter.
- It will affect the value of your property.
- It may void your home insurance.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
Yes. You do not need a license to paint your own home in North Carolina.
In many states, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.
Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.
Why hiring a professional painter is recommended
If you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.
One of the greatest benefits of hiring a professional painter is that you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home. Make sure to use high-quality paint for the best results.
If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a painter licensed to work in North Carolina. Seek referrals to hire a good painter.
Also, get at least three quotes before you hire. It helps you to find a painter who will work with your budget.
When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is higher than if you DIY. Different painters charge different prices, hence the need to have three quotes to compare.
Lead paint disclosure in North Dakota
Lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and North Dakota legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.
Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients’ presence of lead-based paint in the. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.
Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.
Pregnant women and unborn children are at high risk of infections caused by exposure to lead.