You do need to pay attention to licenses if you are hiring a painter for residential or commercial work in Oregon.

All painters working in Oregon must have a license no matter the size of the job.

Further, all contractors working on any part of construction projects in the state must have a license.

Do painters need to be licensed in Oregon

A painter working in Oregon has a range of licenses for which they can apply. These licenses are known as endorsements.

Depending on their experience and range of work, a painter can apply for the following licenses:

  • Residential General Contractor
  • Residential Limited Contractor allows painters to bid for projects totaling $40,000 per year.
  • Residential Developer
  • Commercial General Contractor (Level 1). You must have eight years of experience to apply for this license.
  • Commercial General Contractor (Level 2). Painters need four years of experience to apply for this license.
  • Commercial Developer

A painter working as a subcontractor can apply for the following licenses:

  • Commercial Specialty Contractor (Level 1) for those with eight years of experience.
  • Commercial Specialty Contractor (Level 2) for those with four years of experience.
  • Residential Specialty Contractor
  • Home Services Contractor

Where to get a painting license in Oregon

Painters and other construction contractors get their licenses from the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.

Here are the requirements for a contractor license.

  • Be a registered business.
  • The business will designate an individual who will be the Responsible Managing Individual (RMI). This individual will complete 16 hours of studying law and business and pass the exam.
  • Complete the application form.
  • Pay the $250 license fee.
  • Proof of general liability business insurance.
  • Proof of workers’ compensation insurance if you have employees.
  • Proof of surety bond. Each license category has a stipulated surety bond amount.

What can happen if you hire an unlicensed painter

Painters working without the proper licenses in Oregon may face penalties from the licensing authorities.

Penalties for contractors working without a permit include:

  • Blacklisting. You are placed on a list of contractors that the Board encourages clients not to hire.
  • Civil fines
  • Cannot enforce lien rights.

What are the negative consequences of hiring an unlicensed contractor?

  • They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported for unfinished jobs or overcharging. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
  • Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
  • You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
  • It may be hard to get your money back from an unlicensed out-of-state painter.
  • It will affect the value of your property.
  • It may void your home insurance.

Can I paint my own house without a license?

Yes. You do not need a license to paint your own home in Oregon. However, you must ensure that any work done on your house must meet the set building codes.

In many states, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.

Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.

Why hiring a professional painter is recommended

If you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.

One of the greatest benefits of hiring a professional painter is that you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home. Make sure to use high-quality paint for the best results.

If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a painter licensed to work in Oregon. Seek referrals to hire a good painter.

Also, get at least three quotes before you hire. It helps you to find a painter who will work with your budget.

When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is higher than if you DIY. Different painters charge different prices, hence the need to have three quotes to compare.

Lead paint disclosure Oregon

A lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and Oregon legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.

Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients of lead-based paint. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.

Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.

Failure to make a lead disclosure exposes the seller or landlord to liability. If your buyers or tenants fall sick due to undeclared lead paint, you could be sued for damages. You may also have to pay a $10,000 fine.

Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.

To prevent the likelihood of falling sick due to lead paint, ensure that the paint is not chipped or cracked. Clean the walls regularly and allow for proper air circulation in the house. Open the windows regularly and clean the air ducts.

Ben McInerney
Author: Ben McInerney - is a qualified arborist with 15 plus years of industry experience in Arboriculture. He ran a successful tree service before turning to writing and publishing. Ben is dedicated to providing users with the most accurate up-to-date information on everything trees.