To work as a painter in Arkansas, you need a license.
Residential Painting – Painters who work on residential projects of more than $2,000 need a license to work in Arkansas.
Residential Painting (Small) – If you are working on residential projects worth less than $2,000, you will still need a remodeler’s license.
Commercial Painting – Painters and other contractors will need a license to work on commercial projects worth over $50,000 or more.
If you are a subcontractor working under a licensed contractor, you can use a business license.
A general contractor license allows your business to handle complex commercial or residential projects. As a licensed contractor, you can work on projects larger than single-family residences. .
As a licensed painter, you will get more work and charge higher rates. You can also work on complex projects that allow you to gain more experience and learn more about your profession.
Licensed contractors produce high-quality work as they risk the loss of their license for shoddy work.
If you are working on residential projects worth less than $2,000, you will need a remodeler’s license.
Where to get a painting license in Arkansas
The Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board is the authority that provides licenses to painters and other contractors.
Here are some of the requirements you must meet to qualify for a painter’s license in Arkansas,
- Pass the C-34 exam.
- Surety bond
- Workers compensation if you have employees.
- Download, fill, and submit a license application form.
- Pay the $100 fee.
- Submit three written references with your application. They should be less than 90 days old.
- Evidence of passing the Arkansas Business and Law Exam.
Benefits of getting your painter license in Arkansas
- Approval by the government to work in the state.
- Demonstrates competence since you have to pass an exam to get licensed.
- It helps you to obtain proper insurance. Unlicensed contractors cannot get insurance.
- Trust by customers.
- You can open and run your own business
- You can market yourself to more customers
- You can handle large and high-value projects.
What can happen if you hire an unlicensed painter?
Working without a license is a class A misdemeanor in Arkansas. A jail sentence is possible if you work while unlicensed. Further, you are liable to $100 to $200 fines if you work on projects that require a license without one.
Before hiring a painter for your commercial or residential project, always ask for their license details. You can confirm these details from the state or licensing authority website.
Here are some of the consequences you are likely to face if you hire an unlicensed painter.
- Shoddy work.
- Unlicensed painters will not have insurance. If an accident occurs while working on your property, you will have to pay for it. You will also pay for injuries to the painter that they get while working on your property.
- Without a license, a painter cannot get required permits from the local government where necessary. You will violate the building code if you work on your property without the required authorization.
- Void your home insurance for any damage caused or repaired by an unlicensed painting contractor.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
Yes. You do not need a license to do your own home improvement in Arkansas.
However, if you hire a contractor to do the work for you, they will need to be licensed if the work, labor, and material cost are more than $2,000. You will be fined for hiring a contractor to work on projects costing more than the said amount.
It is cheaper to paint your own house, but hiring a professional would be best if you do not have hands-on skills. Experienced painting contractors will deliver professional results and finish the job within the stipulated timeline.
Lead paint disclosure Arkansas
The federal government and the state of Arkansas require sellers and landlords to provide a lead paint disclosure when selling or renting out buildings erected before 1978.
Arkansas banned the use of lead paint in 1978.
Sellers and landlords are required to inform all prospective clients about the presence of lead or lead-based paint in the property. The disclosure should be included in the final print of the sales or lease contract.
Lead is detrimental to humans as it can cause nervous disorders and even brain damage in extreme cases. Lead gets into the human body through breathing or swallowing dust from chipped lead paint.
Pregnant women, unborn children, and kids under 6 years are more vulnerable to infections caused by exposure to lead.