Painters working in Nevada must have a state license.
Nevada does not recognize licenses from other states. Therefore, non-resident painters must apply for a Nevada license.
Contractors working on projects worth over $1,000 in the state must have a license. Additionally, contractors working on any project that requires a permit must be licensed.
Nevada painters apply for the Nevada Painting Contractor (C-4A) license. It allows holders to carry out all paint application tasks, varnishes, applying a protective coating, and other tasks that involve application by brush, roller, or spray.
Where to get a painting license in Nevada
Apply for your license from the Nevada State Contractors Board.
Here are the requirements for a Nevada painting license.
- Register a business. The license belongs to the business entity and not the qualifying party. Register your business at the Nevada Secretary of State.
- Submit a license application form.
- Provide identification documents for everyone listed on the application.
- Proof of experience. Submit a resume showing at least four years of experience.
- Provide four certificates of work experience.
- Copies of a college diploma.
- Criminal background check report.
- Statement of financial position.
- Pay the $140 exam fee.
- Pass the licensing exam. There are two exams that you must pass:
- The trade exam and,
- The Business and Law exam.
- Pay a $600 license fee. The license is valid for two years.
- Get a surety bond.
- Get workers’ compensation insurance if you have employees.
What can happen if you work without a license in Nevada?
In Nevada, it is a crime to contract painting jobs while unlicensed.
First-time offenders pay a fine worth $1,000 to $4,000. They may also get a six months jail sentence.
The second-time offense is a misdemeanor that attracts fines worth $4,000-$10,000. You may also get sent to jail for a year.
Subsequent offenses are category E felonies. It may attract a four-year jail sentence and fines between $10,000 and $20,000.
What are the negative consequences of hiring an unlicensed contractor?
- They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported for unfinished jobs or overcharging. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
- Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
- You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
- You will have to pay for any medical bills for injuries sustained by the contractor.
- It may be hard to get your money back from an unlicensed out-of-state painter.
- It will affect the value of your property.
- It may void your home insurance.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
Yes. You do not need a license to paint your own home in Nevada.
In many states, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.
Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.
Why hiring a professional painter is recommended
If you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.
One of the greatest benefits of hiring a professional painter is that you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home. Make sure to use high-quality paint for the best results.
If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a Nevada-licensed painter. Seek referrals to hire a good painter.
Also, get at least three quotes before you hire. It helps you to find a painter who will work with your budget.
When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is higher than if you DIY. Different painters charge different prices, hence the need to have three quotes to compare.
Lead paint disclosure Nevada
A lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and Nevada legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.
Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients of lead-based paint. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.
Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.
Pregnant women and unborn children are at high risk of infections caused by exposure to lead.