All construction workers must have a license to work in Utah.
Painters working in Utah must get a license from the state before they start working on projects.
A painter in Utah will apply for the Specialty Contractor License.
Depending on the kind of projects they want to work in, painters can apply for either the General Contractor License or Specialty Contractor License
General contractor license
The General contractor license allows licensees to work on a range of construction projects. It has seven categories;
- General contracting
- Commercial contracting
- Residential contracting
- General electrical contracting
- Residential electrical contracting
- General plumbing
- Residential plumbing
Specialty contractor license
The Specialty Contractor License allows holders to work on specialized tasks on construction projects. Some of the categories it licenses are painting, landscaping, HVAC, sign installation, masonry, and other contracting specialties.
Where to get a painting license
The Department of Occupational and Professional Licensing issues licenses to contractors.
Here are the requirements that painters must meet to apply for a contracting license.
- Complete a 25-hour licensure course. Associated Builders And Contractors Inc, Utah Home Builders Association, and Associated General Contractors of Utah offer it.
- General liability insurance worth $300,000 and coverage of $100,000 for each instance.
- Registered business.
- Have Federal EIN
- If you have employees in your business, you must have workers’ compensation insurance, unemployment registration, and state withholding tax registration if you have employees.
- Proof of two years of experience in the industry.
- Pass the Business Law and the trade exam.
- Submit a completed application form.
What can happen if you work without a license?
Painters working without the proper licenses in South Carolina may face penalties such as:
- $1,000 fine for a first offense. $2,000 fine for a second offense.
- $2,000 per day fine for each day you work without a license after your second offense.
What are the negative consequences of hiring an unlicensed contractor?
- They may not deliver as agreed. Licensed contractors risk losing their license if reported for unfinished jobs or overcharging. Always hire only licensed contractors for your painting jobs.
- Shoddy work. Licensed contractors have passed practical and written examinations to show their experience and competence.
- You will have to pay for any damage or accident during the job since unlicensed contractors do not have insurance. It will cost you more if an unlicensed contractor causes damage to your property.
- It may be hard to get your money back from an unlicensed out-of-state painter.
- It will affect the value of your property.
- It may void your home insurance.
Can I paint my own house without a license?
Yes. You do not need a license to paint your own home in Utah.
In many states, homeowners can paint both the exterior and interior of their homes without a license or permit.
Painting your home is an easy task. It is affordable since all you need is the paint and paintbrushes.
Why hiring a professional painter is recommended
If you do not have the time or skills to paint, you can hire a contractor.
One of the greatest benefits of hiring a professional painter is that you can expect the paint job to last at least ten years before you need to repaint your home. Make sure to use high-quality paint for the best results.
If you choose to hire a contractor, ensure that you hire a painter licensed to work in Texas. Seek referrals to hire a good painter.
Also, get at least three quotes before you hire. It helps you to find a painter who will work with your budget.
When you hire a contractor, the cost of painting your home is higher than if you DIY. Different painters charge different prices, hence the need to have three quotes to compare.
Lead paint disclosure Utah
A lead-based paint disclosure is a federal and Utah legal requirement when selling or renting property built before 1978.
Before selling a house, sellers must inform their prospective clients of lead-based paint. Additionally, sales contracts must include the lead paint disclosure.
Landlords must also include the disclosure in the rent leases.
Failure to make a lead disclosure exposes the seller or landlord to liability. You could be sued for damages if your buyers or tenants fall sick due to undeclared lead paint. You may also have to pay a $10,000 fine.
Lead is harmful to human beings. It gets into the body through breathing in or swallowing lead dust from chipped paint. It causes brain damage and nervous disorders in children under six years.
To prevent the likelihood of falling sick due to lead paint, ensure that the paint is not chipped or cracked. Clean the walls regularly and allow for proper air circulation in the house. Open the windows regularly and clean the air ducts.